HCV ANONYMOUS
Welcome, Guest. Please login or register.
May 17, 2012, 03:19:25 PM

Login with username, password and session length
Search:     Advanced search
Try our chat.
 Heppers House
Sundays & Wednesdays 7:30 -11:00 pm est


79320 Posts in 8111 Topics by 1226 Members
Latest Member: boyce535
* Home Help Search Calendar Login Register
+  HCV ANONYMOUS
|-+  Everything in General
| |-+  News - Friends - Prayers and more... (Moderators: 19Dragon52, Doug, Hank's mom, negative1)
| | |-+  Firefox blocks site?
« previous next »
Pages: [1] Go Down Print
Author Topic: Firefox blocks site?  (Read 573 times)
willy
YaBB Administrator
Veteran Member
*****
Offline Offline

Gender: Male
Posts: 6179



« on: July 27, 2010, 09:39:45 PM »

I had to get logged on to AOL to post.  Firefox is not letting me on the site.  I know; the issue may be my computer, but when I was out of town last weekend my friends computer gave me the same message. 

Even without clicking the site when I go to favortite  places there is a red dot with a minus sign in it.

I just wonder if anyone else is having a problem.  I'm turning in and will try to figure it out later.  Before bed I'll run a malware program.

Willy
Logged
willy
YaBB Administrator
Veteran Member
*****
Offline Offline

Gender: Male
Posts: 6179



« Reply #1 on: July 27, 2010, 09:46:13 PM »

It's nearly one AM and so I'm not going to make sense of this tonight but here is a link to a thread that came up when I googled the topic;
"reported attack site"

http://forums.mozillazine.org/viewtopic.php?f=23&t=651240

Willy
Logged
willy
YaBB Administrator
Veteran Member
*****
Offline Offline

Gender: Male
Posts: 6179



« Reply #2 on: July 29, 2010, 08:33:22 PM »

I got a note from Mouse; sh is having trouble getting on this site; I think It's the same issue.

Firefox is blocking the site; AOL is not.  I assume other browsers may also work.

I'm looking into it.

Willy
Logged
MissyMouse
YaBB Administrator
Veteran Member
*****
Offline Offline

Gender: Female
Posts: 3292



« Reply #3 on: July 30, 2010, 04:39:52 AM »

Google Chrome is also blocking it.  I've been able to get on through Internet Explorer.

Mouse
Logged

1a, Stage 4, cirrhosis
Round 1: 48 weeks from 5/19/06 - 4/13/07
Relapsed 9/24/07
Round 2: 72 weeks from 12/11/07 - 4/21/09
Relapsed 5/27/2009
Round 3: 48 weeks from 12/2/2009 - 10/27/10
Third time's a charm ... SVR BABY!!!!
DougV
YaBB Administrator
Veteran Member
*****
Offline Offline

Gender: Male
Posts: 1547


« Reply #4 on: July 30, 2010, 05:00:21 AM »

I reported this too.  I can use Firefox, and am at the moment, but you have to disable the attack site warning.  Personally when it told me a site I know is safe isn't, well I turned it off immediately before it blocked another attack site, like CNN or ESPN or Yahoo or something......

Oh yeah, forgot I was going to check Safari and see what it does, hang on one second....

Safari is cool with it too, so Apple users should be okay.

Tell ya what, traffic ain't exactly crashing the internet due to volume anyway, with some of the more popular web browsers blocking the site it ain't gonna help none.....

Doug
Logged

Diagnosed 10/04 1a 3/3
Round 1 2005 48wk Pegintron Relapsed
Round 2 2007-08 39wk Infergen Relapse
9/26/08 Diag. Stage 4
Round 3 Pegasus/Riba/Incivik 6/25/11 -
willy
YaBB Administrator
Veteran Member
*****
Offline Offline

Gender: Male
Posts: 6179



« Reply #5 on: July 30, 2010, 07:39:35 AM »

http://www.simplemachines.org/community/index.php?action=search2;search=reported+attack+site%22

There can be a few causes; one was that the provider was contaminated, such as Go-daddy.

Another cause was the means or sensitivity level that Firefox considered a threat, in which many non-theatening sites could be blocked due to the protocols used by Firefox in determining threat.

It is possible that a site with the warning label could indeed be "infected" but I find it interesting that other providers such as AOL do not consider it to be so, nor am I turming up infection on my own computer with my anti-viral/trojan/bot/pop-up programs.

It appears that a SMF update is suggested and possible switching to a more secure provider.

I'll check with web-runner and see if they can respond.

best,
Willy
Logged
robin
Veteran Member
*****
Offline Offline

Gender: Female
Posts: 2099



« Reply #6 on: July 30, 2010, 11:41:14 AM »

Having no problem here at all but sorry so many others are.

Keep your spirits high...robin
Logged

Genotype 1-A
Liver Recipient 11-22-2007
Keep your spirits high...robin
willy
YaBB Administrator
Veteran Member
*****
Offline Offline

Gender: Male
Posts: 6179



« Reply #7 on: July 31, 2010, 05:23:01 AM »

Blake from Webrunner replied; "Your site doesn’t seem to be infected but from the report it appears that the site has a link going to the domain electn@te.com/.  That domain is what is passing out the spyware/virus and should be removed by your moderators or web developer. 

I have not been able to find such a link using several methods; board search tools, checking last posts for 30+ days, or checking the posts of the most recent members.

I'm not sure where the link is coming from, it could be from a "page" that is not subject to board search.  It could be for instance, a member's byline or a part of their profile page.

I guess that I'll check the latest member's profiles for that or see if I can do a refined search.

Willy

(Modified.....) I looked at recent members going back 3 months; no sign of a bad signature or link to the site, but going 3 months back in member profiles only completes about 1 of 110 pages of memberships.  My feeling is that this is a recent change or a web crawler would have found it earlier.

Willy
« Last Edit: July 31, 2010, 05:57:56 AM by willy » Logged
beingbecky
Senior Member
****
Offline Offline

Gender: Female
Posts: 967



« Reply #8 on: July 31, 2010, 04:44:39 PM »

It's been awhile since I have stopped by...yeah Fire Fox said this is an infected site.

Becky 
Logged
DougV
YaBB Administrator
Veteran Member
*****
Offline Offline

Gender: Male
Posts: 1547


« Reply #9 on: July 31, 2010, 08:03:22 PM »

Seems odd Willy, te.com is a legit site for a Japanese camera kiosk.  Doesn't appear to be a scam of to be issuing any spyware.   Hang on, be right back, going to post this, leave, turn security back on, slip over to te.com and see what happens......

Doug
Logged

Diagnosed 10/04 1a 3/3
Round 1 2005 48wk Pegintron Relapsed
Round 2 2007-08 39wk Infergen Relapse
9/26/08 Diag. Stage 4
Round 3 Pegasus/Riba/Incivik 6/25/11 -
DougV
YaBB Administrator
Veteran Member
*****
Offline Offline

Gender: Male
Posts: 1547


« Reply #10 on: July 31, 2010, 08:09:35 PM »

Did yall miss me?

Okay I went over to te.com with security on, site is clean as a whistle, Firefox is fine and dandy with it.  Based on that the info you got makes no sense.  You may be looking for the wrong thing.

Firefox and Chrome, both reporting this site, account for over 25% of all users.  We better get this fixed. 

Doug
Logged

Diagnosed 10/04 1a 3/3
Round 1 2005 48wk Pegintron Relapsed
Round 2 2007-08 39wk Infergen Relapse
9/26/08 Diag. Stage 4
Round 3 Pegasus/Riba/Incivik 6/25/11 -
willy
YaBB Administrator
Veteran Member
*****
Offline Offline

Gender: Male
Posts: 6179



« Reply #11 on: August 01, 2010, 06:24:59 AM »

Sorry Doug, I changed the URL in the past post since I myself was putting up close to a working URL to a suspect site.  The whole issue is that there appears to somewhere in the forum a URL to that site. 

My posting the same would possibly be a redundant or double threat and so I added a @ in place of the "a" in the URL.

The actual word in the link is electnate, not electn@te, followed by the dot and com.

Sorry to be so evasive about posting the actual URL, but I believe that a functioning link to the site is enough to get one's site redlisted by firefox or other providers.

Willy

I have also done a precursory look at some of the code of the forum.  I saw a thread in which some code was injected into other board code, so that perhapsd when a page opens a part of the basic code that makes a "page" appear a certain way may contain code, possibly a URL to a bad site.  The actual URL would not be visible to a member "looking"  at the site, but may be visible to the computer that reads the code.  This is not my area of expertise...... actually, I have no area of expertise.   Cheesy

I may write Kat a note and see what she thinks.

best,
Willy
« Last Edit: August 01, 2010, 07:04:21 AM by willy » Logged
Pages: [1] Go Up Print 
« previous next »
Jump to:  

Powered by MySQL Powered by PHP Powered by SMF 1.1.11 | SMF © 2006-2009, Simple Machines LLC Valid XHTML 1.0! Valid CSS!